Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2013, 02:27 PM   #1

K5 or K30

As above. Should I get the K5 or the K30?

Thank you.

01-09-2013, 02:37 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Mlcinema Quote
As above. Should I get the K5 or the K30?

Thank you.
Tell us something about your needs and photo experience, or read the K-30 review for a K-5 comparison:
Pentax K-30 Camera Review - Introduction - PentaxForums.com

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-09-2013, 03:07 PM   #3

Original Poster
Well, I am new to DSLRs for photography. I have used a 5DmkII for my movies, but I have always used Pentax for photography. I don't know how to use a DSLRs to its full potential. Are the top LCD screens a must. What benefit do they offer? I want the camera to last me a very long time. I guess I'm just looking for any information I can get.

Thank you.
01-09-2013, 03:25 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I would not say (personally) that the top LCD screens are NOT a must. I find they can be convenient to have while working on tripod but personally I could live without one.

As far as long life goes, the K-5 has the better build versus the K-30 and generally considered to be more rugged. Also the K-5 has better extension possibilities (optional grip, external microphone socket, tethering etc). On the other hand the K-30 has some new features that the K-5 does not have (like focus peaking in Live View and improved autofocus is low light).

01-09-2013, 04:00 PM   #5

QuoteOriginally posted by kiwi_jono Quote