Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2013, 01:12 AM   #1

Pentax: Is it really that bad for moving objects?

Hi all- I'm new to the Pentax world...bought Canon and Nikon like the rest of the herd and it served me well shooting weddings for the last 5 years. But I'm really intrigued by Pentax on several levels. First, I love that Pentax is different- there's a certain photojournalistic bend to how Pentax does things- the weather sealing, smaller lenses, incognito style that I appreciate and thinking about using as a second camera system. My other system is the anti-Pentax: Sony a99 + Zeiss lenses. Super heavy, not weather sealed, loud focusing, but brilliant for portraits. What I want is a second camera system that is rugged, more of a photojournalistic/on the run kind of camera.

Problem is, it seems like everyone's saying that Pentax's continuous AF is behind the times...the K5 ii reviews seem to show an improved single subject AF, but as I've seen with Sony and even Canon, continuous tracking AF is not a given even on flagship cameras. Even the Canon 5d mark iii has its issues. My Sony a99, for example, is super fast to focus on the first shot, then the tracking gets really skiddish and misses quite a bit if the subject is moving fast towards you. Canon is better, but still misses, and Nikon is stellar in this department. I'm thinking about a setup that includes the 31 1.8 and 50-135...my main worry are the processionals at a wedding and in a darker reception hall...AF is tested when the subject is moving towards you.

Any thoughts from the Pentax veterans? I would love to see samples/hear real life testimonials...

01-12-2013, 03:04 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery