Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2008, 01:33 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Metering/EV bar in viewfinder? (k10d)

I am new to photography so forgive me if this seems like a ridiculous question.
Is there a way to change the settings so my Metering bar shows up in the viewfinder in other modes besides M. I checked the manual but didn't see anything avail. in the custom menu.
I am taking a photography class an my teacher thinks it's quite strange that I don't see the meter in TV/AV modes.

Thanks!

02-20-2008, 01:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
In the automatic and semi-automatic modes (including Tv & Av), the EV "bar" is used to show the EV compensation you have dialed in, if any. It has no use otherwise, since the camera is adjusting the parameters to have a neutral metering anyway (i.e. the display would remain at 0 unless you dialed some compensation in).

It is shown all the time in M mode to guide the photographer in setting up aperture, shutter & ISO to get the desired exposure. Naturally, EV compensation is not available in M mode because you can adjust exposure directly with aperture, shutter & ISO combination.

I can't understand why your teacher finds it strange...
02-20-2008, 01:49 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I guess I need to check when I get home to see what happens, but I thought it did show up if you have adjusted it. If you have it at 0, as was said above, what is the point in showing it? The camera will adjust the opposite value to always make it 0. I just thought that it showed up if you have made a change, so if you go to -1 then it will show you that, but I could be wrong. Maybe I'm thinking about my K110D, or maybe it just shows it in the top LCD and I'm imagining things thinking it is in the view finder.
02-20-2008, 01:52 PM   #4
Veteran Member