Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2013, 02:05 PM   #1

Intriguing new versus second hands choice

Hi all,

This is probably only an academic question as I won't have the cash for a month or two, but nevertheless people's thoughts will help me with my choices.

I've been looking to buy a K30 with kit lense. In the UK we only seem to get the 18-55 option although thats fine with me.

I have found what many of you will call a Mom and Pop store which is retailing the K30 kit at 550 which is pretty much the best price I can find online anyway.

Here's the thing. The shop has an almost unused in its box second-hand K-5 kit with the same lense. They want 500.

What are your thoughts on this as an alternative choice? Assume the K-5 is as new, which it seems to be.

In each case the lenses are identical WR kit lenses.

I'm new to DSLR moving up from quality compacts. I want to get something that won't baffle me but which can go quite advanced with in time, as I don't have the money for an upgrade every year or two. I'm interested in largely outdoor work when I am on hiking and fishing trips. Lots of landscapes and then close up stuff on insects and flowers too.

Will the menu navigation be fairly similar on the two cameras for a newb?

In my less than expert hands will I be able to get better shots with ISO 80 rather than 100?

I might say I have only really had a good look and demo of the K30 and liked it. I only noticed later they had the K-5 on their website. The shop is not so close to home for me but work takes me to the vicinity now and again, so I will have a look at it eventually (if it doesn't sell!).

All thoughts welcome.

01-31-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you really want focus peaking and better video.. then get K-30. Otherwise get the K-5. But keep in mind that if you will be buying months from now, the prices may change and the deal may be gone (or another deal will appear).