Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2008, 12:19 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
D200 Or K20

I currently have a K10d and am debating on the new K20 or switching over to the D200. I am still a MAJOR ROOKIE at photo but love shooting.

What are going to be the pros and cons of each camera, is one more user freindly, will one shoot better in low light conditions, etc.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

02-24-2008, 12:31 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Why not just stick with the K10D and get better glass? Neither camera would present a significant camera over what you currently have.
02-24-2008, 01:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Cvrn Quote
I currently have a K10d and am debating on the new K20 or switching over to the D200. I am still a MAJOR ROOKIE at photo but love shooting.

What are going to be the pros and cons of each camera, is one more user freindly, will one shoot better in low light conditions, etc.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
If you're looking for a user-friendly camera that shoots better than the K10D in low light, you shouild downgrade to the K100. It's a great camera

I think the K20D is enough of an improvement, and am preparing to sell my GX-10 soon... it's just annoying not being able to use high ISO after you get used to the K100D. In that light, the K20D will be a much better performer than the D200 - the real competitor would be the D300.

You do know that switching to Nikon will cost you 2 to 3 times more than Pentax, if you want the same lenses, right? If the camera system is not limiting your ability, there is no reason to switch.
02-24-2008, 01:22 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Mega pixels smexapixels, keep the K10D and get a K100D/Super on the cheap to shoot the lowlight conditions. Since you are a MAJOR ROOKIE as you put it, all the new bells and whistles will do nothing for you. Put the money you save on getting new lenses.

02-24-2008, 01:28 PM   #5