Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
02-25-2013, 05:47 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Once again, priorities shift, feel I may have outgrown Pentax :(

Once upon a time, I looked at people who didn't shoot Pentax and thought they were on something. Now I think they're onto something.

When I started shooting, a lot of my shots worked great on my Pentax. Tripod at night, daytime walking around, snowy weather? Grab the K20D!

However, things have started to shift... I have two main needs that have emerged now. First:
Action shots. My nephews are really getting into the age of sports now, and while I can get good shots of them now, I can't help but feel I could get MORE good shots of them with another brand. Maybe I'm crazy but the Pentax lacks the confidence in focus that my sister's new Nikon has. (Keep in mind I have a K20D, not a 30 or 5-II or anything...) It's not even how fast it can spin the lens, it is the confidence and accuracy at which it spins it. You know? I don't care about a billion focus points, I could live with one if I needed to.

Work videos: I want to record videos of using my app, others using my app, etc. I currently have NO video capability in my DSLR so I use my iPhone 5 for any video recording. It does ok. But nothing too special, no zoom, etc. If I bought a new camera today it would either be the K-5 or K30... So now the question is... Why would I?

Full frame doesn't matter, but having these two things suddenly be much more important to me, I can't help but feel my Pentax days are numbered... I love the brand, I love the way they feel, I wish Pentax could just come out with another camera to blow them all away, but I can't wait for that to happen the rest of my life. I hate that I'm even writing these words, but...

Is there another brand (Hoping Nikon) that would suit my needs well? Two BIG necessities are weather sealed and two dials, otherwise I'm pretty open.