Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2013, 02:07 AM   #1

How to use built in k-r flash with old lenses

Hello my name is Giordy and i have an important question,

I recently got a pentax K-R and i had a bunch of old pentax cameras laying around the house, so i took out the 135mm lenses and placed them on the K-R.

Everything is ok but i had one specific (maybe dum?) question.

How do i use my flash in manual mode? Because i'm used to it just popping up, and since im using MF now, it won't just pop up anymore.

I'm a COMPLETE beginner so i have no clue ..

THANKYOUUUUUUUU

03-12-2013, 03:09 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is a button on the front, to the left of the lcd screen. it says UP and there is a lighting bolt drawn. The lighting bolt symbolizes a flash discharge, this button makes the flash pop up. Next you will want to input the flash parameters. I don't know much about actually using the pop up flash, since I never do
03-12-2013, 05:09 AM   #3

Original Poster
Problem with flash!

Thanks for the quick reply !!

Ok, i had figured that out in the meantime, but now, i have a new problem...

When i take a picture with the flash , the picture comes up completely white (Overexposure?)
Anyway, do you know how to fix that problem?

Thanks !!!
03-12-2013, 06:15 PM   #4
Forum Member

If the lenses are "M" series then the flash is firing at full power. You need to close down the aperture until you get the correct exposure. Also the shutter speed will be 1/180 or slower. You can also calculate the aperture/distance(meters)/iso based on the flash power ratings but trial and error is faster.
Here are some numbers I had calculated for my K-200D flash.
f13@2 meters@iso400, f/8.7@3 meters,f6.9@4 meters.f5.2@5 meters

06-05-2013, 08:14 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery