Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-29-2008, 10:19 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K10d Anomoly? Or me?

I have been using my K10d for many months. and love it.
However, last couple of weeks I have taken photos couple of times, viewed the result on the screen. Fine!
Came back a little later and up came "Camera unable to display this image".
Many photos still viewable but in some isolated instances this is what came up.
What is happening, any suggestions.
It would not surprise if it is me and not the camera, so have a good chuckle at my expense if you like, but please can somebody explain.

Thanks a lot, guys and gals.

02-29-2008, 10:44 PM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

I would bet that it's the card. First format it in the camera after transferring the files to a hard drive. If that doesn't help, try a new card.

It's in the process of a slow death. Swap cards and shoot for awhile with a new card. if the problem disappears, toss the old card.
02-29-2008, 11:04 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks Peter
I would bet you are spot on. The card I have been using has been in use for some time and I feel its about at the end of its useful life.
Thanks a lot for your time.
Regards....... Bruce.
02-29-2008, 11:40 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A question along these lines:

What is the life of a card? Are some better then others? What speed does the K10D need? Does the speed of the card matter?

I could "google" this but what fun is that?

Bramela, Great marco shots in your gallery!

Eric.

02-29-2008, 11:47 PM   #5
Veteran Member

KungPOW,

I'd say that a cards life most likely depends upon the conditions you live in.

If it's going from hot to cold constantly it won't live as long as a constant temp.

In your case I don't know if the wet environment can take it's toll, but it's a possibility.

I like SanDisk cards, however I use Lexar cards in my event camera.