Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2007, 02:22 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Adaptall/Pentax K100D

I am looking for a Tamron Adaptall Adapter for My Pentax K100D.
I believe it would have to be either a KA or AF adapter.
I would like full automation but it is not essential. Manual control of focus, aperture and shutter speed would be quite acceptable.
The Adaptall K does not work. It prevents the camera from operating.
Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.
I am new to Pentax and to DSLR.

Thank you,

Mickey Oberman

01-09-2007, 02:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The K adaptor I believe would work like a Pentax manual lens - manual stop-down operation. On your camera this doesn't work? You won't get any of the priority or program modes to work.

What you need is a K/A adaptall - it has three electrical contacts and was designed to make the lens work like an 'A' Pentax lens.

I just bought one for my Tamron SP 35-80 2.5-3.8 CF, for use on my px10. In program I see the aperture display, in shutter priority or aperture priority I do not, but the metering works. And in full manual it's the match-indicator thing, no aperture (but shutter speed is displayed). The exposure is fine in all modes.

(The mount is fiddly to fit, unlike with the OM or even Nikon mounts. What you need to do is set the lens at max aperture (there's a dot on the lens to help with this... so you line up that dot, the lens adaptall dot, and the adaptall mount dot... and then twist it on.)

You should have the same functionality with the K100D.
01-09-2007, 05:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Nesster,

The K adapter has a solid lip that touches all the contacts on the camera's lens mount at once. The camera will not operate in any mode.
Where did you get the K/A adapter? It sounds like the answer to my problems.

Thanks,
Mickey
01-10-2007, 02:24 AM   #4
Forum Member

Nesster,