Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2008, 03:03 PM   #1
Inactive Account

New Member-Former Nikonian!

Hello all!

Just bought a mint K100D and a used, but mint 18-55 kit lens. I have been a keen amateur photographer for 40 years (yikes!) and shot Nikon, Minolta and Canon film cameras, then Canon and Nikon digital.

I am selling my Nikon digital lenses and two bodies (D50 and 80) and switching to Pentax. I like the shake reduction on the newer Pentax bodies and the ergonomics as well. I am frustrated by the metering of the D80 and can't afford the D200 or D300. Also the D40X takes great pics with among the highest rated dynamic range but only can take lenseswith their own motors!

My plan is to keep the K100D as a backup, but one that will be used often. I always carry two bodies because I want the flexibility of having two different lenses available without having to keep changing lenses. I shoot stock (as an amateur) and always shoot in the Raw format. I have only the kit lense (which I understand is pretty good at F/8 or F11) until I finish selling the Nikon gear.

I then plan to buy either the K10D or 20D (probably 10D). Then I will buy a good prime (maybe F1.7 50mm) and several faster zooms that have strong reviews. As someone in another recent post said Pentax neds to come out with some F/4 quality lenses for those of us that are not well off!

Finally, I shoot mostly landscapes, macro, crowd scenes and some photo journalism type photos.

Anyway, sorry for the long post but I would appreciate any advice you Pentax veterans might have for me based on my tenative plans.

Bob

Last edited by Rmpjr7; 03-06-2008 at 03:15 PM. Reason: Add Information
03-06-2008, 03:12 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Rmpjr7 Quote
Hello all!