Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2008, 09:00 AM   #1

New to Pentax and dslr

Hey all! I am awaiting my K10D which I should have by the end of the month. I was an advid film shooter and then left the photography world for a little while and now i want to come back in full force. I know each dslr has a "conversion" on the focal length of the lenses. Can anyone tell me what the conversion is and how it will affect my shots? Like I said I am totally new to the D-SLR world...

I decided to go to the K10D because my favorite film camera is the classic K1000 that I learned on, and the feel of the K10D was love at first grip. I thought of getting and entry level camera like a Rebel XTI but for the difference of a few hundred dollars I could have a much more serious camera to grow into. The only thing is I hope I haven't gotten myself into too much of a camera..but as my mom always said "I'll grow into it.."

Any info is awesome..
Nik

03-11-2008, 09:11 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Welcome, I was born and raised in Madison and my parents still live there. So that makes 3 Madison people on here (well...2.5 and I'm the half )

The crop factor is 1.5x....when you see a lens, take its focal length and mulitply it by 1.5 to get the effective length. On the camera itself, when SR asks for a number...put in the len's true length as printed on its front (if using manual lenses).

The entry level Canons feel like toys...you made a good choice
03-11-2008, 11:21 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks.. Madison is great. Manual mode asks for the focal length? that is really odd, isn't it?
03-11-2008, 11:45 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by madisonphotogrl Quote
Thanks.. Madison is great. Manual mode asks for the focal length? that is really odd, isn't it?