Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2013, 04:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

K-5ii (s) vs K-30 for video (and obviously photography)

I currently have a K20D and have found a full time job for the summer (I am a university student) that will yield a pretty decent amount of cash. SO I kind of want to look at upgrading.

I also currently have a Canon HF S11 camcorder (1080p, 24mbit high-end handheld camcorder) which is great in the outdoors but only decent indoors. When I play around with the live view on my K20D I literally dream of being able to record with it. The colors and dynamic range are just so much more interesting, not to mention the DOF with my 50/1.7.

So here's my question: Is the K-5ii or K-30 better for video? I know the K-30 has focus peaking (which seems like it would be an amazing help) but the K-5ii is newer so they may have improved on the video quality over the K-30. Most reviews say the video mode on the K-30 is just average, at best.

I'd probably be using either a tripod/monopod or getting some sort of glidecam setup because I do a lot of moving around shots (shoot music videos and skits), don't know if that's important to know.

As a slightly annoying alternative, I guess I can wait for the new APS-C prosumer model that's supposed to come out anywhere from this summer to christmas? Not sure I want to wait that long considering I have a bunch of video ideas and plans for this summer. I figure the video mode would be better on that model, though, so there's the tradeoff. Patience or no patience.

As a side note, I wouldn't go for a K-30 unless the video performance is better than the K5-ii, save for the focus peaking. I can't live without a top LCD.

05-24-2013, 04:17 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The K-30 lacks one thing that would probably be very important to you. It doesn't have an external mic port, it is limited to a built in mono mic.