Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2013, 04:37 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Older Pentax Bodies

Hi all... I am new to the Pentax Digital Camera world... But I am not new to Digital Cameras or photography... I recently had to dump all my gear and now am starting to rebuild a system. I decided to pick up a very inexpensive *ist DL body and 18-55 DA lens. Realizing the body is older, I just wanted to see if I liked the Pentax in general. And I do. I decided to go to Pentax for the quality of the lenses and the compactness of the bodies.

So here is the question! I am going to do event work, such as weddings and parties. I want a body that will do decent images upto 1000iso or so... I want a body that will allow for a battery grip (for longer shooting time and vertical handling)... And I need to keep the costs in the $300-$350 range for the body as I also have some lenses I wish to get (that being for another thread!). Oh! I am not a videographer, but a photographer so video is not needed.

When I look at reviews I certainly get confused with the body choices. So far I think either the 200d or 20d make sense. But I am not sure, I would love some input from others. I won't be purchasing until the first of July and am using June to research.

I am sure this has been asked a million times, and I appreciate all input.

05-30-2013, 05:17 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pbmax Quote
I want a body that will do decent images upto 1000iso or
I am more sensitive to high ISO noise than some but I doubt any of the old bodies would give me acceptable 1000 ISO shots. Are these paid gigs or just you attending and taking snapshots? If you expect to be paid the level of quality required goes up quite a bit.

Personally I think you are not going to find what you need at that price point but that's just my opinion. Good Luck!
05-30-2013, 05:19 PM   #3

Original Poster