Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-14-2008, 07:53 AM   #1

K100d 'snow' setting question

I'm a novice. when I try take pics in 5-scene snow setting, in bright sunlight the flash pops up. using 18-55 kit lens. This doesn't seem right , any ideas or comments?

03-14-2008, 08:52 AM   #2
Inactive Account

kevin, it's likely the snow setting pops the flash to better illuminate any subjects close to the camera, so the background (white snow) doesn't overwhelm the subject. i have the k10d so i can't be too sure. with the k10d you'd generally put it in center spot metering mode to make sure you subject was properly exposed... which would probably over-expose the background quite a bit

anyways, if anyone else has any other thoughts, let us know... i'm by no means a pro!
03-14-2008, 10:15 AM   #3

QuoteOriginally posted by kevinfox203 Quote
I'm a novice. when I try take pics in 5-scene snow setting, in bright sunlight the flash pops up. using 18-55 kit lens. This doesn't seem right , any ideas or comments?
I am by no means a pro either but I live in the snowy parts of northern Sweden so I am familiar with taking pictures in snow.

The fact is that a shining sun creates very heavy shadows that the eye can handle but not always the camera. I you want to take a backlit portrait for example you are sure to get the face too dark, sometimes even if you make a spot measuring with your camera.
Better then to use the flash to lighten up those shadows - the result is often very good.

Some cameras (including my K100 super) makes that decision by itself and I am glad for it - I sometimes forget it!

Kjell
in the north of Sweden - just now with 70 cm of snow
03-14-2008, 10:59 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks for your insight Mitch & Kjell. do i read you right that this is the camera doing a good job rather than my intitial thought that it was malfunctioning?

Last edited by kevinfox203; 03-14-2008 at 11:14 AM.