Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2008, 03:11 PM   #16
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Thanks for that Richard.

Do you have a link to the original diagrams?

Cheers,
Rusty

03-20-2008, 04:36 PM   #17
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by RBellavance Quote
Do you have a reference to back up that claim ? This is the first time I've read anything of the sort.

My understanding of things is that the K10D's raw files (as those of most other cameras, BTW) do NOT actually contain any color information whatsoever, but only the luminance of each photosite under the "RG/GB" bayer array. Converting *that* into regular RGB (and therefore into a color gamut) is performed by the raw converter. Therefore, I don't understand how DNG could have a wider color gamut than PEF...
I have been printing for 35 years and owned a printing business with my brother for the last 25. We have a digital set up that could shame just about any photographers, and, although I'm not the digital expert in the shop, we do employ two full time graphic artist. I got those info from those two "computer nerds".
03-20-2008, 04:40 PM   #18
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by dave kitson Quote
DNGs & PEFs contain exactly the same image info. Colour gamut is a function of the conversion, not the format of the data container.

dave

EDIT: oops, typing at the same time as *isteve..
The information gathered by the sensor is the same. The way it is stored on the SD card is different. If it was the same, there would be no need to put the two standards in the camera's menu!
03-20-2008, 04:46 PM   #19
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by flyer Quote
The information gathered by the sensor is the same. The way it is stored on the SD card is different. If it was the same, there would be no need to put the two standards in the camera's menu!