Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2013, 04:45 PM   #1

Rafting the Grand Canyon and a DSLR Rookie

The thread title says it all...WHAT DO I DO!?!?!?!

Didn't know where to post this as it's quite general so let me give you an idea of where I'm coming from. I'm new in the world of SLR photography. I'm a little over a year out of college and photography has always interested me but I've never quite taken the dive. For the last 5 years my photography experience has been with a hand-me-down Canon A560. A nice little point and shoot camera but it's time to take that dive as I'm no longer a ramen eating college student with a poorly paying job. I've purchased and am waiting for my K-30 and it couldn't have been at a better time (or worse...if you think about it).

I have a rafting trip on the Grand Canyon coming up in September. For those of you who don't know this is the holy grail of rafting trips. I grew up rafting and kayaking and have never had the chance before. 20 days completely cut-off from the outside world in the some of the world's most beautiful and striking scenery (not to mention the awesome whitewater). It's an exciting opputunity but one that doesn't come around a lot. I don't want to screw it up from a photography standpoint. Take a look at the google search I did below...

https://www.google.com/search?q=grand+canyon+rafting+photography&bav=on.2,or...BeH8iwK6nIDoCQ

The opportunity to take fantastic photos will be at every bend of the river. So here I am asking the experts what to do. Here is my equipment I've purchased so far...

- Pentax K-30 Body
- SMC DA 18-250 F3.5-6.3 ED AL
- Extra Battery
- 2x 16GB Sandisk SD Cards