Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2008, 04:33 PM   #1

New DSLR question...

I am very new to the whole DSLR game so please go easy with me here...

I am trying to determine the best camera for me between two cameras that I have chosen that I think I will grow with for a long time.

My background is strictly P&S. I have a Canon PS A540 that I have used for about a year and a half. Recently, I went down to watch a hockey game in AL and hung out with the team photographer who shoots with a Nikon D70s and a Sigma 70-200 f2.8 lens. I never used the M option on my P&S until he "showed me the light" so to speak! Ever since that weekend in Feb, I have been doing nothing but research on DSLR cameras. I am currently reading through Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson so that I can have some knowledge before I get my camera.

My intentions for the use of my new camera will be to have more control over the shots that I will be taking: landscapes, macro, minimal portraits, and some hockey photos from my seats. I have narrowed it down to two cameras: the Pentax K20D and the Nikon D80.

As an inexperienced user, I expect that there will be some (if not many) that will tell me to buy "less" of a camera, but that is not what I want. I want to be able to grow into my camera and its system. But I have been researching many, many, many sites and books, and magazines about each camera and now I am getting to the point where I am simply confusing myself about which camera system to actually buy into. Hence, the request for help.

As I see it, for me, the pros/cons of each after handling both (well, I actually held a K10D) at a local Ritz:

Pentax K20D
Pros:
*CMOS sensor
*body based IS (or SR as Pentax calls it)
*tough body to withstand just about anything thrown at it
*complete and total control over all picture taking
*live view mode for macro
*great hand feel though a little heavy
*dust reduction "stuff"
Cons: