Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2008, 10:13 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Night time photography with the K10d

Hi all, I'm a newbie with DSLR and the K10D. I've been trying to do some night photography in city areas that have varied lighting conditions (such as Times Square in NYC) and other cityscapes. My problem is that I can't seem to find the right balances for exposure and the auto settings seem overwhelmed creating either slightly blurred/bleeding color renditions or really dark areas without detail. I'm trying to avoid a tripod and fully manual settings. Does anyone have any tips/ suggestions for initial settings or best settings for this type of photography? THANKS ALL!

- Carlos

03-25-2008, 09:30 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Since you didn't say which lens you use, I would suggest to get a fast , short focal lens (those 1.4 or 2ish lens). As long as you focus to infinity, f/1.4 would provide enough DOF. Blurred/bleeding color is probably due to vibration/shaking during the shooting or exposure is too long. I would crank up the ISO.

As for the dark area, you probably have to deal with that unless you have a flash.

I think Time Square usually has enough lighting. However, if you do want to capture all the details, I think you need a tripod and do an HDR shot (multiple exposure shot).
03-25-2008, 09:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member

This is one of my favourite photography subjects.

A few suggestions
- get a fast lens. An FA50 f/1.4 or f/2.8 will give you a more flexibility with shutter speed if you are trying to avoid using a tripod.

- bump up the ISO. You can still get low noise shots with ISO800. ISO1600 a bit iffy.

- Shoot RAW. Gives you more latitude to adjust later for exposure issues and avoid white balance problems.

- Night city shots with a mix of bright lights and many dark areas are always a compromise on exposure.
- Take a test shot of the overall scene first.