Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2013, 04:21 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How does one answer?

Last night at my camera club, a new member (joined last night) asked why anyone would choose an oddball camera (his words) like Pentax rather than Canon or Nikon. He shoots Canon 5D.

I suggested physical size, ergonomics, etc. I also said I've been shooting Pentax since 1968 and still using my M42 lenses and the AF lenses I bought with my SFx in '89.

He was a bit dismissive as it was obvious I only upgraded.

09-02-2013, 04:38 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Ask why he chose to shoot a Canon 5D, he probably wouldn't have a meaningful answer anyway.
09-02-2013, 04:42 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Ask if he has ever shot a Pentax? If he had he would probably be in the same position as you! *Remember...Pixie Dust!*
09-02-2013, 04:47 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Plenty of things you could say, but considering his attitude I doubt it would matter. I don't know the man so maybe I'm wrong but in my experience anyone so arrogant as to assume one camera brand or another makes you a better photographer is a wannabe amateur. I've been at shoots with real pros, people who do this for a living, and been the only Pentax shooter there. I never got a derisive comment and usually a few genuine inquiries about the gear and the strong points. Amateurs worry about gear, professionals worry about results.

I have a friend who shoots a 5D and would never consider anything but a FF camera. He's not a pro but a very serious shooter and he has handled my k-5 and stated "feels good, shoots good, nice!". He used to shoot with an LX way back in the day. And not to turn this into a FF thread but, he likely would still be with Pentax if they had FF.