Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2013, 05:52 AM   #1
Forum Member

K-x disappointment

I managed to kill (or at least maim) my K100DS with a generic M42 Adapter recently. It and my lovely Tak 135 are bonded together until I manage to annul their relationship. In the meantime I bought a secondhand K-x, thinking it's low light capabilities & other features would be a step forward. However I guess I'm really still mourning my K100DS as I simply don't like the colour tonality of the K-x nearly as much. The K100DS had a warmth about it & my keeper rate was 3 times that of the K-x, so far! The K-x produces excellent pictures that are probably more realistic but leave me a bit cold. I'm still a beginner with the K-x but I feel little affinity with it & will probably sell it, but for what?

I guess this is a CCD vs CMOS issue? I'm into old manual lenses and non moving subjects, so I'm thinking K10D or K20D - their pentaprism viewfinders would probably be a big plus, perhaps the K200D? I'd actually be happy with another K100DS but wouldn't mind trying something else. Is there anything else I should be looking at, bearing in mind that money is tight!

I'd appreciate your thoughts

09-04-2013, 06:00 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It could be CCD vs. CMOS, a lot of people prefer CCD.
But there are many things you can try to improve your experience with the K-x, especially if you shoot raw. You can try camera calibration to make those colours pop more (by changing their hue and saturation), you can try using white balance CTE, adding vibrance to the photos..
But, you know, that is a general trend in photography. To make photos that are strong and "correct." That is why the bokeh in modern lenses is less artistic and more jagged, that is why modern lenses are sharper and have less CA, with strong contrasts..