Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-08-2013, 07:07 AM   #1

Shooting in Auto vs Manual

Hey gang I have had a K200 that I have had a while and mostly was a auto guy but in the last year or so I started playing around with all those buttons Then just recently I bought a 35/2.4 lens and I have been playing with the buttons even more and I think I have a very general understanding of what they do. This leads into my question. When you guys are shooting in a changing enviroment that can be quicker paced do you shoot auto or do still shoot manual. I ask this because I mostly take pics of my kids and we are going to Disney next week and you can get in all kinds of areas for pics there. I dont know all those buttons well enough to just set them and take pics I have to take a pic then see how it turned out make a change take another pic and so on but in Disnney I usually wont get that kind of time but it does seem some times that manual takes better pics. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated!

09-08-2013, 07:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I normally shoot manual all the time, except on days with clouds and wind where the lighting changes every few seconds. Similar to your situation. Days like that I've been playing around lately with Aperture Priority (Av) on my K30 and it seems to do pretty well. I normally shoot birds with a 200mm M42 lens and almost always at f8, ISO 200 if possible, so Aperture Priority seems to work pretty well when the clouds are blowing around overhead and the light changes every few seconds. Everything else stays the same, shutter speed changes according to the lighting.
09-08-2013, 08:44 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Av for Me!

Hello Lokin4deer,
It might help to think of the shooting modes this way;