Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2008, 10:39 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Which Lens/Settings To Use For An Upcoming Auto Show

Hey Everyone,

I'll be going to the Dallas show next month and I only want to take one lens with my k100d, either the 18-55 mm Pentax lens that came with the camera or my newly acquired Sigma 70-300mm zoom, I have no idea what kind of light source the convention center will have. Since I'm very new to the k100d and heard about the poor tungsten quality in it's W/B setting, Is this the fault of the standard lens or the camera? What settings and/or lens would you recommend for this visit.

Thanks in advance
Barry

03-26-2008, 10:45 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by shutterpuppy Quote
Hey Everyone,

I'll be going to the Dallas show next month and I only want to take one lens with my k100d, either the 18-55 mm Pentax lens that came with the camera or my newly acquired Sigma 70-300mm zoom, I have no idea what kind of light source the convention center will have. Since I'm very new to the k100d and heard about the poor tungsten quality in it's W/B setting, Is this the fault of the standard lens or the camera? What settings and/or lens would you recommend for this visit.

Thanks in advance
Barry
Take the kit lens. I have both of those lenses and that sigma will be really tough to use indoors. Your going to want to use the wider lens. Plus its faster. As for white balance, don't worry about the lens, take a couple test shots using difference W/B settings and use the one that looks the best. Or you can shoot RAW and not worry about it....
03-26-2008, 11:26 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Kit lens would be better with its wide range starting at 18mm. I doubt you need anything longer than 50mm at the autoshow unless you want to take makro pictures of individual parts. An external flash would be recommended as the built-in flash is not that powerful.
03-26-2008, 11:32 AM   #4
Veteran Member