Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2007, 10:04 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
pronunciation of *ist?

1. Idle curiosity on my part, but as I'm reading more and more about Pentax cameras, it's becoming more and more annoying to me that I don't know what to hear in my head when I encounter the model name *ist. Does anybody know if there is an authoritative pronunciation for that? And apart from the authoritative pronunciation, what do people actually say, if anything?

Example of difference between authoritative pronunciation and actual usage: Apple stated repeatedly that the correct or official pronunciation of "OS X" is oh-ess-ten. The X is the Roman numeral for "10". As a Latin professor, I would have urged them to push for oh-ess-decem, but for some reason they never ask me about these things. Anyway, authoritative pronunciation aside, lots of people said oh-ess-ex.

2. I would also like to ask, What in the world was Pentax thinking of when they came up the name *ist? Had they hired the Artist Formerly Known as the Artist Formerly Known as Prince to advise them on product naming? But an answer to this question would be too much to hope for, so I'll be content with an answer to question 1.

:-)

Will

01-17-2007, 10:20 AM   #2
Inactive Account

As far as I know it is what it is, I, S, T. Mine is an istDL.

Walt
01-17-2007, 10:24 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by newtmaker Quote
As far as I know it is what it is, I, S, T. Mine is an istDL.

I asked about pronunciation. Are you responding that you pronounce your camera model eye-ess-tee-dee-ell?

What about that wacky asterisk? I have been assuming that people must say something like "star-ist", since "asterisk-ist" is something only professional linguists would be able to pronounce.

Will
01-17-2007, 11:01 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Thanks for asking this question... I've been wondering the same thing for awhile now.