Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-30-2008, 05:33 PM   #1

K10d and inbuilt flash

I know that flash has been mentioned a lot on this forum but I am having a bit of an issue with the inbuilt flash. When coupled with the 16-50mmDA* lens at 16mm in AV mode(at any F stop) the shutter speed is set to 1/30 and it will not alter till the lens is zoomed out. Is this not too slow? Never noticed it this slow on the *ist DS.

03-30-2008, 05:51 PM   #2
Veteran Member

my DA 18-55 is the same. i am a newbie, and i'm a little puzzled too. At, say, 55mm with flash raised, the shutter speed is set to a specific value - lets say 1/80 - , irrespective of what i do to the aperture. if i wind the zoom back to 18mm, the shutter speed shifts to 1/30, but again this remains constant even if i change aperture size.

i believe the P-ttl system looks at the focal length set, but why doesn't it adjust shutter speed to suit aperture settings? presumably the flash intensity is adjusted automatically instead?

flash photography is one area i haven't been able to get to grips with as yet on the K10 (granted, i've only had it for 4 days!). sometimes the full frame is illuminated, other times only the centre subject, and -on this lens at least- i get brighter exposure with a smaller aperture. can't figure it out yet.
03-30-2008, 06:05 PM   #3
Veteran Member

mounted the kit lines on the k10d, and it was adjusting Tv values when i was zooming in and out, in P and Green Mode. flash comepenstaion was set to 0,

the K20 was doing the same (w/ the da* 50-135)
03-30-2008, 06:08 PM   #4
Veteran Member

yep, it adjusts based on zoom setting rather than on aperture setting. just not sure why.

03-30-2008, 08:09 PM   #5
Veteran Member