Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-26-2016, 11:36 PM   #1906

QuoteOriginally posted by ChristianRock Quote
Yes... I have two.

I think from what you are describing, you need one or two better lenses. Something like a DA 16-45mm would not cost a whole lot, and it would give you a boost in quality from your 18-55. Then compliment that with a cheap SMC-M 50mm f/1.7 which will give you an idea of what a good prime can accomplish - only they usually cost more. This little M 50 1.7 should cost you less than 50 dollars. If you can also swing a 28mm f/2.8, that's also worth trying, and should cost you 50-60 dollars or so for the SMC-M version. There's also Sigmas and Tokinas (and Tokina-made Auto Sears) that can be had for around 25-40 dollars depending on condition and on who's selling.

The other thing I have learned so far, even though I'm kind of new to the K10D, is that you have to get the exposure right. So I basically "chimp" a lot - if the exposure isn't right, I change the settings and try again. With time I'm learning to get it right more frequently, and what helps is that I only use two ISO settings most of the time - 100 if it's bright, 400 if the light is low. That's it. It then makes it easier to remember what shutter speeds I need to use with what apertures. And sometimes I use Ev with manual lenses just to shoot wide open for fun, but usually with a +1 EV compensation setting.

So, for short: 1-get some faster, cheap Pentax primes and a better standard zoom; and 2-don't think "I'll fix exposure later". Expose right, the CCD sensor will reward you for it.

Finally, you said you already shoot in RAW+ so that's good. Any shot that you think is worth showing, you can get the RAW file and process it with a good software which doesn't have to be expensive.

---------- Post added 05-26-16 at 10:47 AM ----------