Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2015, 12:32 AM   #1081
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by csa Quote
Despite trying all three (Auto, Select, Center) Focus modes on the back dial; with landscape pictures, no matter where I focus (using Select) right now, it will not lock into focus.

Does this happen with one particular lens or with all your lenses? I'm no expert on autofocus since I never use it, but logically if it's just one lens then it could be a problem with decentring.

Try taking a shot of something like a fence or a line of trees from far enough away for focus to be at infinity. Then look at the photo at 100% on your monitor and compare the sharpness at both far sides of the frame. If one side is soft, your lens is decentred, which I imagine would cause the autofocus system some confusion.

Having made that one forced excursion into the world of pixel peeping, never ever go there again if you value your photographic soul.

03-20-2015, 07:06 AM   #1082
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

It happens with all my lenses at one time or another. It just seems that it cannot lock onto focus when I'm focusing. When I focus on a point, the shutter button will not respond. BTW, this happens with both my K10's also. Again, this only happens with landscapes, it seems. Must be a quirk with the auto focusing; but I'm hoping someone can explain or offer a solution.
03-20-2015, 08:35 AM - 3 Likes   #1083
Pentaxian

I almost gave the 200mm a run out again this morning because we had a partial eclipse of the sun, but in the end I decided to go wide with the Super Takumar 20mm instead. That thing that looks like the crescent moon is the sun.

(Xposted in the Takumar Club)
03-21-2015, 12:55 AM   #1084
Veteran Member

Thats fantastic. Man it looks positively surreal.

03-21-2015, 07:21 AM   #1085
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter