Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2008, 06:20 PM   #1

ME Super lenses with a digital body? - Is it possible?

Hello all..... I'm a newbie just joined today and I have a question. I have 2 Pentax ME Super bodies with a selection of Pentax, Tamron and Vivitar lenses. I am looking to buy my first Digital SLR and wonder if there is a Pentax (or other DS) that I can still use these lenses with? If the answer is yes, then are there any other technical things I need to know, EG: any limitaions or such like using old manual lenses with a Digital cameras? I am looking to spend £500 or preferably less on decent camera over 8 mpx. Im an ex pro and I mostly do people and landscapes and lots of experimental stuff, some of which I will post here when time is right. Thank you for reading this and thank you in advance for any (and all) advice that you may have for me. Have a happy day.....Max

04-02-2008, 07:20 PM   #2
Forum Member

Hey,
The main reason I switched to Pentax is that almost all pentax lenses ever made are compatible with their DSLR's. Even screw mount lenses can work with a 30-40 dollar adapter.
All of your lenses should work with a K-series DSLR, but for the M lenses it will only meter for wide open, also no AF for these. For A lenses pretty much everything but autofocus will work.
Have fun,
ranamar
-On my k10d, I use a SMC M-1:2 50mm, I think the same lens supplied with the Me Super, and besides the mentioned metering issues, it works great.
I may even be wrong about the metering, but this is what I was told.
04-02-2008, 07:41 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Max Quote