Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2008, 08:06 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
I'm not understanding why...

Hi everybody, I'm a newbie in the DSLR world and I'm doing my first steps (never owned an SLR but played around often with a bridge camera).

So, the other evening I was in a pub taking pictures (and drinking beer of course!) the room was under dim light (AF was sometime hunting... :-|). I was shooting in aperture priority with a K100D + Pentax-F 50mm f1.7 (most of the time wide open or step down to f2).
Once at home I checked the pictures, some of them were very good, some others very blurry.
In some blurry picture the Exif was saying: Aperture f1.7, Shutter Speed 1.5secs (or even 2secs) and ISO 200!!!! Now my ISO setting was in automatic in the range of 200-800. So why the camera chose to pick a shutter speed of 1.5 secs and keeping the ISO at 200 when it could have been better to have ISO800 and shutter speed of 0.3"? Am I doing anything wrong?
Thank you very much for any advice....

04-03-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by soalle Quote
Once at home I checked the pictures, some of them were very good, some others very blurry.
In some blurry picture the Exif was saying: Aperture f1.7, Shutter Speed 1.5secs (or even 2secs) and ISO 200!!!! Now my ISO setting was in automatic in the range of 200-800. So why the camera chose to pick a shutter speed of 1.5 secs and keeping the ISO at 200 when it could have been better to have ISO800 and shutter speed of 0.3"? Am I doing anything wrong?
Thank you very much for any advice....
Did you apply exposure compensation for the blurry shots?
04-03-2008, 08:24 PM   #3

Original Poster
Yes, how do you know??!!!!
I set a -1.0 EV with the only aim of taking pictures with a faster speed. So do you think this affected the ISO choice? If yes, why?
04-03-2008, 08:27 PM   #4

Original Poster