Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-29-2013, 05:54 PM   #1

Luxury problem: What to buy, what to sell, what to keep?

Hi guys,

I have a luxury problem and I am already thinking for quite some time about it. First of all my current DSLR camera inventory:

1. Pentax K-5 limited silver
2. Pentax K-5IIs
3. Pentax K-3

I am just a hobby photographer who doesnīt shoot very much (unfortunately, but I am lacking time) thatīs why shutter counts are still really low and overall the cameras still look very good. Usually I am shooting with the newest camera (K-3). The other two are redundant.

My "emotional" problem is that I really would love to have the K-3 in silver, but I bought the black one, because it was first available and I wanted to do a shooting with the K-3. Furthermore I love silver lenses and would like to buy the new Pentax 20-40 in silver. However, I am not sure if a silver lens on a black body is somehow ridiculous or if it just looks different (which would be not bad).
I also would like to keep one of the K-5's due to better dynamic range according to DXO or is this a stupid reason?.

As a matter of fact, I have the following problems:

1. Sell K-3 as fast as possible with just a little bit of loss and buy a K-3 silver?
2. Wait for the "K-1" and buy this one in silver and keep the K-3 black?
3. Sell K-5 limited silver for which I spent a fortune and keep the technically better K-5IIs?
4. Sell K-5IIs and keep the technically inferior but lovely silver K-5 limited?
5. Sell both K-5's?
6. Buy 20-40mm in silver or black?

What I wonīt do for sure: I will not buy the K-3 silver in addition to my current line up.

I know all these problems are luxury problems and I also know that the body/lens color is not important for good photos, but anyway these are my current "problems" and I would love to hear your opinions about what you would do? What would you sell? What would you keep? What would you buy?