Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-30-2013, 06:33 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Should I purchase a K-3 or K-5iis?

I have been learning and shooting portraits for a couple of years or so in my limited spare time. Sometimes I go a few months without touching my gear. I use a K-20d that I'm sort of content with, however I struggle with being content with the sharpness of my images as I like tack sharp. My eyes aren't very good so I rely on autofocus and I know the outer points aren't the greatest to rely on as well but those are what i prefer to use. Anyone have an opinion or solution? Also I've been told i am maxed out on image quality with my gear. Not sure I believe that. I do mostly low light portraits and obviously on the K20d this is an issue.

I guess I'm asking if There is enough people using the K-3 who have personal experience with the K-5iis and thier opinion on the difference in image quality, low light auto focus and AF in general, and higher ISO quality. As very much an amature who rarely gets to shoot am I better off sticking with my K20 wich has been worked on for AF issues in the past, or would I be happier and can I justify purchasing a K5iis or even making the bigger jump if it's that far advanced quality wise to the K-3?

Sorry for the long winded question. Thank you for your time and opinions.

11-30-2013, 07:29 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Based on what you're saying, I'd recommend the k5ii or iis. The k3 will also work if you want to spend the extra money, but that might not be justified if you don't use your camera gear often.

Both cameras have af systems that are much better than what's in your k20. At high isos, they're about the same, though the k3 has an edge due to the higher resolution.

I recommend that you take a look at our k3 review and then take it from there

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)