Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2008, 02:14 PM   #1

K100D image adjustment

How can I most quickly adjust my K100D default settings to give a more realistic, less yellow image?

as this review says, the default images are "garish and over-sharpened". Most photos indoors and out, except those in bright sunlight, have a distinct yellow/orange tinge. Nothing like what I am used to in my film camera (spotmatic with takumar lenses), which took photos that looked very true to what I was seeing. I was never a very sophisticated film SLR user, but I always got excellent photos especially outdoors

The review also says " it takes a minute to adjust the settings and then the images show wide dynamic range, excellent detail and rich but true colour"

How? which settings??

As you can tell I am a DSLR newbie. I took the camera on holiday last year and spent a couple of days playing with the manual and the camera and didn't get what I wanted. I know I should do a DSLR course, but now, I am mother of a 4month old baby and I want to photograph him before he is 2 . That's why I need a quick adjustment, so I can pick the camera up quickly and get shooting before bubs gets grumpy.

TIA for any help!

04-04-2008, 02:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

personally I use the camera at Bright, +2 Sharpen, -2 Saturation and +1 Contrast and i don't notice these garish and oversharpened pictures. to me the pictures are not sharp enough.

but to each their own, in the Menu settings there are choices for Colour Tone, Sharpness, Contrast and Saturation. for your issues, I would first make sure the Colour Tone is set to Natural, decrease the sharpness, and tone down the saturation. according to the DPReview of the K100D, the saturation is a bit much which I would agree
04-04-2008, 03:55 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums