Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-05-2008, 08:17 AM   #1

Final decision - K10D vs K200D

Ok, I have finally gotten my tax refund and I will be making my purchase by the end of the day today.... Still beating my head against a wall about the K10D vs the K200D. I've tried to weigh the pros and cons of each, and it seems that its not a clear cut decision. Either way there are things that I will lose. I'm a new photographer... I have learned a fair amount by reading like crazy and experimenting with an old Canon T70 and Pentax K1000. So in a way, I'm not even sure which of the features are more important to me at this point. Here is how I see the breakdown:

K10D advantages:

Bigger viewfinder
Dual dials
More button controls
More shooting modes (TAv)
Better buffer (not sure about this one)

K200D advantages:

Newer kit lens (supposed to be sharper)
Possibly improved IQ (I PLAN on shooting mostly RAW, will this even matter?)
Available from better resellers
Better High ISO performance
Improved Shake Reduction
Improved Dynamic Range (Honestly, I dont even know what this means)
bigger LCD

So I guess the question is this... It seems to me that the 200D should give me slightly better IQ and a better lens... Do the features of the K10D override this? I dont mind using the meuns for some things. One of the things I would like to control is the light metering. I tend to take a lot of sunset shots and I've found that spot metering has helped me with this. I notice that the K10D has a dial for light metering, but does the K200D at least have the ability to use different meterings?