Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2013, 03:49 AM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

K3 or K5(any variant) **Experience Required**

I would prefer to hear from those that have had extensive photography experience with Pentax DSLR's. I really do not want to hear about how great the k3 is. I would like to hear real world experiences. 24 megapixels sounds great, but 16 is plenty big. I would love to move to a medium format 645 but the barrier to entry there is obvious. For now I will just be "stitching" images together. To give you my experience I've been shooting for roughly 10 years now. The first DSLR was a k110, k10, k7, and now a k5 in that order. Lenses are sigma 10-20, pentax 18-55 and 80-200 kit lenses, sigma f2.8 100mm macro, f4 300mm and sigma 150-500. My go to camera is obviously the k5, with the k7 as a backup. The k7 I personally did not like as much as the k10, and after using the k5 I realized what a joke the k7 really was. I shoot a LOT of photographs at night so the noise levels in the k7 are my biggest issue, otherwise its great in high levels of light(which camera isn't). My shooting is mostly done at night and the k5 is excellent at night, actually its brilliant. I have also recently been putting together some GIANT panoramic shots,the latest being 16 inches by 120 inches. I am working on getting these mounted but that's another story. Really what I would like is a second camera so I can use two cameras at once at night. Getting the latest camera is always nice so that you can grow into new things, but it seems that the K3 does not seem to be a big enough step to warrant a purchase over the K5. This is the mistake I made with the K7, should have just bought another K10 or maybe a K20. I don't want to make that mistake again. These cameras get beat up pretty badly too. Being left outside during thunderstorms to capture lightning while I use a remote, swinging from my back while climbing trees, getting