Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-04-2014, 10:19 PM - 1 Like   #91
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I needed a camera when I started taking art classes in college. I was doing great photo-realistic portraits in chalk pastels using just disposable cameras and my professor suggested I get an SLR. The K1000 was his suggestion. I couldn't find one, so I got a ZX-L and a Promaster 28-105 in 2003 or so. Loved it. Took it everywhere, used it every day for YEARS, almost always in Auto mode and didn't learn a damn thing. When I decided to get back into the habit of taking pictures, I did look at Canon and Nikon, but I liked the look of the K-30, the features blew all of the Canon's away and I justified it by telling myself I already had a lens for the body and could save money that way.

I plan on shooting Pentax/K-mounts (Ricoh!?) until they don't make 'em any more because of the attractive body design (Canons are ugly lumps, in my opinion.), ergonomics, the features (even basic/mid-range Pentax DSLRs are fine machines), in-body SR, vintage lens compatibility <3 and, at this point, sheer familiarity. Sometimes I forget how lucky I am to know and enjoy all of these benefits that Pentax offers. Plus, with my nerd gland fully activated, I've been acquiring film bodies and re-acquainting myself with that process. Not to mention all of the old glass I'm buying second-hand means I'm shooting manual all. the. time. It's pleasant, and I feel like Pentax has the (ongoing) history to make this feel like a real hobby, something that I can learn and grow with, backwards and forwards in time.

01-05-2014, 08:23 AM   #92

Photos: Gallery
To me Pentax offers best bang for a buck in hardware and I like Pentax's colors and detail/noise ratio.
01-05-2014, 11:17 AM   #93
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by One3rdEV Quote