Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2013, 04:13 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Is it worth it to switch to K-5 II for the sake of ultrasonic dust removal?

Hi,

I am wondering about your opinions. I do know that K-5 II has a better dust removal system than K-30 but I am wondering if it actually prevents the dust from appearing.
I have been shooting K-30 for a few months and I have around 10 dust particles, which do show up in the sky at working apertures. This was never the case with my previous 4/3rds
cameras that use an ultrasonic dust removal... Is K-5 II's one just as effective?

12-16-2013, 04:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Have you done a physical dust removal yourself?
Going into settings, lifting the mirror up, turning the camera upside down, and using a rocket-blower (Giottos is great) to get rid of the particles?

Really, any camera can get dust in its sensor, and not all removal systems will be 100% efficient. If I have any stubborn particles left over, the rocket-blower usually does the job.
12-16-2013, 04:24 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

While I think the k-5 dust system is much better than the one in the k-x (no experience with k-30) I don't think it is enough reason to upgrade bodies. OTOH, if you are looking for a good excuse, then sure the k-5II is a much nicer camera. But roughly the same sensor so not a huge improvement in the IQ category.

Do you run the dust removal on startup? There is a setting in the menu for that. I used to have dust all the time on the k-x until I set it to run at startup, never really had much problem after that. And as Julie noted there are other methods of dust removal beyond the sensor shaker.
12-16-2013, 04:29 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster