Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2008, 06:31 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Oly to Pentax

Hey guys, I used to own the Olympus E-410 up until last week when I returned it to local costco warehouse with 3month return policy. Although I really loved the Oly, they were a bit small on my hand and the lack of image stabilization was irritating me. I did consider the Olympus E-510 too but I had fall in love with Pentax 200D at the local camera store.
Luckly, Pentax is currently offering a student discount and I am planning to fully utilize it by ordering K200D along with DA* 16-50mm and 50-135mm (thats total of $225 rebate!). I've heard dozens of people getting poor DA* 16-50mm due to lack of QC so I'm planning to check/buy them at local Pentax authorized dealer.

Do you guys think this is a smart move?? K20D also looked really nice but I couldn't justify the extra $$$ and considering the fact that I'm still an amateur. I would really love to get decent camera gears before traveling to Japan this summer for 2 month

04-07-2008, 06:43 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the family. The E410 was a nice camera. Used one and considered buying it until an E330 showed up. Like Olympus but wouldn't want to be without the Pentax DS/K10D/K20D. Shoot both brands ( also have the E300).
There are times the Olympus will get better shots ( straight out of the camera) and times the Pentax win. Like the way Pentax works better. More serious user oriented vs Olympus more P&S mind set. Not sure Olympus would have ever enabled older lenses to use IS if Pentax hadn't applied pressure.
You will love the Pentax. Just give it time. Do try to consider the K20D. It is incredible. Love the lower noise and higher resolution. Also two control dials.
Saw the student rebates. Wondered how many would take advantage of them. Good going Pentax. If I were only a student.
thanks
barondla
04-07-2008, 08:04 PM   #3
Veteran Member