Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2014, 12:30 PM   #1
Forum Member

Camera back-ups

Hi and Happy New Year,

I am not a professional, just photo enthusiast. Presently own k7 and k01. My wife generally uses k01, also better for higher ISO. Am I better off looking for good used k5 or wait on a used k5ii or k5iis? I would keep the k7 since prices dropped and still good camera. I have several lenses to use on both the k7 and k01.
There is definite image quality difference with k01, but not unhappy with k7 quality.
Maybe other option on camera, but now used to using k7. Not going to purchase k3.

Thanks, Kiteman

01-05-2014, 12:33 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kiteman Quote
Am I better off looking for good used k5 or wait on a used k5ii or k5iis?
If you're happy with your K-7, you probably won't ever notice a difference between the K-5 and K-5 II in practice, so I think looking for the K-5 classic would be fine. The K-5 sensor is noticeably better than the one in the K-7, though, so I think you'll quickly make the K-7 your backup body

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-05-2014, 12:46 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
K-5 For Me!

Hello kiteman,
I agree with Adam.