Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-21-2007, 10:18 AM   #1

Aperture and Shutter Settings

So I am new to using SLR's - the K100D is my first one and I have had it just over a week. I have only used the Auto Picture mode for maybe a dozen shots or so - want to learn how to shoot without using it. I understand what Aperture and Shutter Speed settings are - what each does and how to make the changes. I have been going back and forth from Av to Tv mode mainly using Av mode.

What I am trying to figure out or find is what Aperture setting to use for what kind of situations? Something like a cheat sheet to help me to begin with while I am learning. Something like f/8 to f/11 for any type of shot. Lower f/5.6 for FOD shots, etc.. I have read through Understanding Exposure and there are some great tips in there, but wondering if anyone else has general rules of thumb that they follow?

Also looking for the same thing for Shutter Speed. Playing round the other day with a tripod and no flash I had set a Tv of 10 seconds and then walked through the focus point a couple of times thinking I would create a "ghost" image. The only thing I accomplished was a "ghost" effect of my final standing spot - not the ghosting of a walking pattern I was trying to get. Also tried it with 30 seconds and got the same results - not what I was going for.

Any tips here would be great. Just a little point me in the right direction to make sure I am heading in the right direction and I learn everything.

Thanks,
Jon

01-21-2007, 11:11 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shutter speed and aperture generally control two things each.