Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-30-2014, 02:39 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Upgrade to K5IIs (from K5) or new lens?

Hi guys,

I have been using a K-5 for 10 months now as my first DSLR. So far I'm verry happy with the camera and my results. However, now I have the opportunity to spend some cash and I need to satisfy my hunger for new gear
My only complains about the K-5: problems with AF in low light (sometimes I shoot in pubs, bad artificial light) and sometimes seems a bit too noisy at ISO 1600-3200).

One option would be an upgrade to K5IIs as seems to have a great price now.

The other would be a new lens... namely Sigma 35mm F1.4 Art (35mm is by far the focal length I seem to use the most).

What would you choose between those? my lens so far: 18-55 WR, 50-200 WR, DA 35mm F2.4, 16-45mm, 15mm Limited. Would any of those lenses benefit from K5IIs? also, would K5IIs have less noise at ISO up to 3200?

01-30-2014, 02:57 AM   #2
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

To take the noise first: There is no difference in noise level between the K-5 and the K-5iis.

As to upgrading to IIs or a Sigma 35/1.4... That would be improved AF in low light vs a stop and a half faster lens. Umm, both? Sorry, I suppose I don't have any good advice on this one
01-30-2014, 03:10 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Hattifnatt Quote
What would you choose between those? my lens so far: 18-55 WR, 50-200 WR, DA 35mm F2.4, 16-45mm, 15mm Limited. Would any of those lenses benefit from K5IIs? also, would K5IIs have less noise at ISO up to 3200?