Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 230 Likes Search this Thread
03-05-2014, 11:03 AM   #91
HavelockV

Saving Lens ROMs not possible

Hi,

I am new here so forgive me if my questions are stupid.

Am I the only one who has the impression that even though the Debug mode is open now, we still can not save LensROMs on a K-30 or K-3?

If I press "ok" on these menu items ("lens rom dat camera =>sd") nothing happens, even though it happily saves camera log files to the card.

Has anyone managed to save a lensROM to SD card using specifically a K-30 or K-3?

@Shodan:
As you are searching for the bitmaps for the icons I wonder if you couldnt search for the "Test Mode" functions in the disassembled code. The test mode does have this function "Icon test". I am no great programmer, but wouldnt it sound worthwile to search the firmware for the text string "Icon test" and then check the code around it, since this obviously calls all the icons?

03-05-2014, 12:38 PM   #92
Forum Member

Original Poster
I think some of the functionality present in the menus doesnt work on the k30. Take dumping the CPU firmware it doesnt seem to work -yet the DSP dump also has the CPU firmware.

in regards to the icons and font menus they are on my ever growing todo list.
03-05-2014, 03:16 PM   #93
jup

QuoteOriginally posted by LeFanch Quote
Donated as well...
20£
Me too.
03-05-2014, 03:45 PM   #94
Forum Member

Original Poster
Wow, I've just checked and we are almost 1/3 the way through our funding goal!

Thanks to everyone who has contributed.

03-05-2014, 07:16 PM   #95
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
15 on your way.
03-07-2014, 01:14 AM   #96

Hacking the firmware would be also nice, to analyse what's really happening with firmware updates.
e.g.: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/16-pentax-news-rumors/253934-10-firmware-...econveter.html
The converter works on K-3 and K-5 II before the update released... So what does the update really do?