Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2014, 06:04 AM - 16 Likes   #1
Forum Member

Resurrecting Pentax firmware hacking

Resurrecting Pentax firmware hacking

I better start with an introduction as this is my first post. I own a K30 with a load of old manual lenses. I'm also a full time reverse engineer and I'm very interested in rebooting firmware hacking on the Pentax. However I need help and can't do it alone.

I've gone through all the previous posts on Pentax hacking as well as the useful but old Pentax hacking site. Based on this I've seen that the biggest problems for creating a hacked firmware are:
  • Need for experienced reverse engineers
  • Cost of the required tools such as IDA Pro
  • The FP instruction set

Luckily I can help with some of the above. First with experience. I'm a hardware hacker who previously ported CHDK to my Canon Powershot - I've got some experience in hacking firmware on cameras. Next with tooling, for the people who don't know you need an expensive dissasembler called IDA Pro. I have this and the tool that changes assembly into a higher level language - the decompiler. Finally is the instruction set. I've done a lot of work reverse engineering the chip that's inside the K30 and I believe newer models as well. This I think is a Fujitsu Milbeaut MB91696AM. The great thing about this is that it's based around a Dual core ARM Cortex M4 CPU. This means no horrible FP instruction set! It all ARM and that's what I'm good at.

My progress so far:
  • Decrypted the firmware
  • Performed a lot of reverse engineering. Large parts found including memory allocation functions, displaying text on screen etc
  • Found all the debug processing code
  • Found the firmware decryption routines
  • Written custom firmware that allows custom code to be run
  • Started the PHDK project

Useful links:
PHDK Wiki
Paper describing the work so far - very technical
PHDK source code