Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2014, 06:45 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The k-5IIs vs. K-3 wedding photography difference.

Hello,

I'm a family photographer, I do family, senior, weddings, events etc. The last two seasons I shot with two K-5 Classic, one on each side with sigma DC 17-50 / DA 50-135 and FA 50 1.7. This combination of lenses works for me. Although I'm buying a sigma 35mm f1.4 for more flexibility at low light venue.

Yesterday I sold a K-5. I now need a new Pentax body.

I know the K-5II and K-5IIs have much better AF capabilities especially in low light and I'm very excited about that. How many times did I have to lock at 17mm, focusing ring secured where I knew it would catch focus if I placed myself accordingly. This technique works good when you can move freely around the subject, but it's restrictive.

Here's my dilemma: since I shoot mostly still or slow moving people, I don't care about flu cards, 16mp is enough for me, do I need to spend another $500 for a K-3, or should I just go for a K-5IIs and use the remaining money to help paying for my 35mm?
In other words do the improved AF and IQ of the k-3 over the K-5IIs justify the extra $

Thank you.

02-07-2014, 06:47 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

One of the biggest improvements in the K-3 (IMO) is the metering and white balance system. The K-3's AWB is much more accurate in low and artificial light, and for that reason I'd say it's worth upgrading to it.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

02-07-2014, 06:50 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Good point. Thank you!