Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2008, 06:42 PM   #1

K200d - Memory cards and new 18-250mm lense

I am seriously considering purchasing the new K200d and have two questions.

First what are others finding is the best size of memory card and does one really need an ultra high spped memory card?

Can anyone comment on the new Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 DI-ll LD lens? Good or bad. It looks like a great new lens to me, but I am a novice.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

04-14-2008, 07:04 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
well, if you are going to shoot RAW format, on a 2 gig card, you will get in the neighborhood of 115-125 photos per card, IF the raw files are the same size as a K10D, so I would suggest buying 3 or 4 , and the speed is more important for taking them OFF of the card, and transferring them to your PC.
04-15-2008, 04:18 AM   #3

4 gb are cheap....

From Amazon.co.uk.

2 of SanDisk SecureDigital Ultra II Card SDHC 4 GB @ 10.99 each

Item Subtotal: 21.98
Shipping & Handling: 10.00
Total: 31.98

They came with a free SDHC reader.

They work just fine in my k200d.

At that price, why buy less than 4GB.

D

QuoteOriginally posted by Hewy57 Quote

First what are others finding is the best size of memory card and does one really need an ultra high spped memory card?

Can anyone comment on the new Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 DI-ll LD lens? Good or bad. It looks like a great new lens to me, but I am a novice.

04-15-2008, 01:55 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'd say 2GB is the minimum size I'd buy for the K200D, and 4GB is probably the "sweet spot". I never worried about speed as that only affects me during image transfer to the computer and I'm not in a hurry.