Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2014, 11:35 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Looking for a DSLR

So I am an utter noob I have been thinking of getting an DSLR for the past month and researching eveything I can find. As I get closer to making a decision, the harder it becomes. So a question.

If you were getting your first DSLR would you wait longer to save up for a used mid-range or because you are a noob, get a camera sooner and get an entry level one.

For me I am currently going between getting a Pentax K-500 with the kit lens or waiting up to a half year and getting a used K5II. A new K-50 runs the same as a used K5II so if I was spending that amount, might as well go for the K5II.

My planned usage is for landscape, wildlife, travel, and night sky photography.

I am not sure I really need the weather resistant body of the K5II (or K-50) but could miss not having the AF points in the viewfinder of the K500

So part of me wants to get something NOW NOW NOW and start playing but part of me wants to save up and get a better body to start with and just play with my Canon SX230HS for the next few months and start learning how to use it better including editing with Lightroom before getting a DSLR.

Thoughs?

03-16-2014, 11:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Really, the lenses are more important than the body. I'd spend a couple hundred in a good used body and invest the rest in lenses. I still use old K-x bodies that do everything I need them to do, and I've been involved in photography for 30 years. Contrary to popular belief, you do not need the latest greatest camera to create quality images.
03-16-2014, 12:06 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery
I think a used k-5 could be acquired for about the same price as a new K-500. If I had to do it all over I would have bought my first camera (a K-x) used, that way I wouldn't have lost as much money when I upgraded.