Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2008, 09:41 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Indoor sports photography how to?

Good morning:

I looked around but didn't find a thread on this.

I am relatively new to my K100D (6 months). I LOVE IT SO FAR... My question today is what combination of Shutter Speed / Aperture and Lens should I use to get the best results for indoor, low light non-flash sprots photography.

I love to take pictures of my kids sports and currently my daughter is in volleyball.

I am using an SMC-M 50/2 with 800 - 1600 ISO and they are OK but not in great focus.

Is there a better lens to use that will provide good crisp pictures under these active conditions.

Thanks,

Stan

04-19-2008, 10:29 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Indoor Shooting

You need a fast lens. Depending on the amount of light in the gym, f2 may or may not be enough.

You need to use a minimum of 1/500th if you want to come anywhere close to freezing the action.

The faster the shutter speed, the more likelihood you will freeze it.

I would try all this at about 800ISO.

If you use flash either off or on camera, you can lower the shutter speed.
I took this photo at about ISO 800, f1.8, 1/500th and off-camera flash located in the stands and fired by Pocket Wizards

I would try the 77mm Limited.... I shot the above with an 85mm 1.8 on a Nikon....(sorry, I didnt have my K10D with me at that time)
Attached Images

Last edited by pentaxshooter; 04-19-2008 at 10:32 AM. Reason: ADDED INFORMATION ON LENS
04-19-2008, 12:00 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sglj3 Quote
Good morning:

I am relatively new to my K100D (6 months). I LOVE IT SO FAR... My question today is what combination of Shutter Speed / Aperture and Lens should I use to get the best results for indoor, low light non-flash sprots photography.

I love to take pictures of my kids sports and currently my daughter is in volleyball.