Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2014, 10:49 AM   #1
Veteran Member

What influence does the lens have on AF accuracy vs camera?

Hi,

I am pretty new to DSLRs and my engineer's brain is intrigued by the technology behind them. The latest topic I fail to understand is how a lens can influence AF accuracy. There seem to be quite a few lenses that are known for inaccurate AF.
My understanding is that the camera detects out of focus conditions and adjust focus accordingly. Now how can the lens mess this up? I can see how some lenses are slower than others but in the end it should be the camera that makes the decision. Or am I misunderstanding how things work?

Cheers

03-27-2014, 11:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Make a search for Focus Shift. This is one of the reasons a lens can mess up focus accuracy. Other than that I canīt think how a lens can mess with AF accuracy. AF speed does depends much more on the lens than on the body. A long focus throw, Type of AF motor, brightness of the lens, all play a part in AF speed.
03-27-2014, 11:31 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
For starters, Maxxx, lenses are not equally bright and focusing by contrast detection will be less accurate.

In various situations you're better off manually focusing.

Last edited by clackers; 03-27-2014 at 11:37 AM.
03-27-2014, 11:46 AM   #4
Veteran Member

My understanding is that if the lens isn't set correctly, it can affect focus in several ways:

1) Badly design lenses will improperly split the light going to the phase detection module, causing incorrect focus.
2) Lenses with in-lens motors may overshoot or undershoot as they are activated to focus.
3) Lenses with very low wide-open contrast (very fast lenses) are near impossible for CDAF systems to focus.

03-27-2014, 11:47 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums