Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-21-2008, 02:20 PM   #1

Am I addicted to the EV bar??

I've read a lot of posts about "what mode to use", but still have questions about P mode ..

I'm relatively new to photography (I've had the k10 since Oct, so I guess I have to stop saying that at some point!) and have been primarily shooting in M mode. What I like about M Mode: I can meter using the green button, then use the EV bar (in the LCD Panel on top of camera, or thru the viewfinder) to go up/down in exposure depending on the scene. I have become quite attached to that EV bar, I must say.

Unfortunately, my shots still have alot to be desired in the exposure arena, so I recently started trying other modes of shooting. I've read a lot on the forums about the benefits of P mode .. so I gave it a shot this last weekend. My biggest challenge was I did not agree with the metering!

So, in theory, does this mean that when in P mode .. you only get one exposure value, depending on how the camera meters? If shooting on a bright/sunny day w/ lots of shadows .. there's no way to over/under expose in P mode?

04-21-2008, 02:48 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
You could bracket your exposures so that you capture a range from under to over exposure.

You can use spot metering and meter on bright or dark areas to get different exposures.

If you're happy with M why not stay with it - it puts you in complete control.

Enjoy the K10 and more importantly, enjoy taking photographs.

Rusty
04-21-2008, 02:52 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

By starting to use your camera in M mode, you have probably learned more about exposure in 6 months than many people will learn in 6 years.... well done.