Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 23 Likes Search this Thread
04-14-2014, 08:43 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Weddings... k5iis or go D700...

I started shooting pentax film cameras and have stayed with pentax since, it made sense at the time because it was simply a hobby and all my lenses were compatible

I went from k1000 to mz7 to Z1 analogue cameras to a KR and then a K5iis

I love the k5iis but here is my dilemma

I am now supposedly 'semi pro' (if that even exists) in that I am getting paid for jobs, I have a home studio, insurance, website etc etc, it is still not my main source of income but in coming years I hope that it will be my main or only source of income & I have some important shoots coming up I.e. weddings and the like and don't know what to do

I know I need a spare body and some more faster lenses for low light work but am unsure if I should jump ship and move to nikon full frame

I'm not one of those people thinking of moving to ff for the sake of it either, the K5iis is a fantastic camera, very sharp great images very good if not the best high iso for aps c but...

Low light high iso performance,
Superior af performance
Shallower dof (both a plus and a minus in different situations) Better ttl flash All above is from the grapevine...
Never shot a FF nikon in my life!

All are reasons in my mind to not get a 2nd k5iis or any more pentax glass but to sell off my pentax gear in favor of a nikon ff setup

Decisions decisions
But the costs involved are astronomical So I'm considering getting 2 used d700's And upgrade in future to d4s when I have enough work to warrant it..

Any thoughts please? or better any wedding shooters working in low light have good things to say about k5iis / k5ii in that situation high iso about af performance and lens recommendations Or is the k3 a better choice