Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2007, 11:15 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pentax lens all-in-one with moderate zoom

I have a k100d with 18-55 kit lens , but I want a little more zoom. It is important for me to shoot flowers with butterflies and other interesting small things. I had a Canon S2is that had great macro ability.
I was deciding between a Pentax 28-105mm 3.2-4.5 lens vs. the current 50-200 ED glass zoom from Pentax. I have been hearing wonderful things about the 50-200, and would lean toward that lens . I also had a Canon d60 EOS with 28-105 usm ii lens (will attempt to attach a photo from that camera, which is a loaner, showing the kind of closeups I like to take).
Would really appreciate any advice since I am new to DSLR's. Thanks, freddy

Last edited by fevbusch; 01-24-2007 at 01:02 PM.
01-24-2007, 11:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by fevbusch Quote
I have a k100d with 18-55 kit lens , but I want a little more zoom. It is important for me to shoot flowers with butterflies and other interesting small things. I had a Canon S2is that had great macro ability.
I was deciding between a Pentax 28-105mm 3.2-4.5 lens vs. the current 50-200 ED glass zoom from Pentax. I have been hearing wonderful things about the 50-200, and would lean toward that lens .

Freddy,

I don't know where you are going, but I do know exactly where you're coming from. Before I got my K100D about six weeks ago, I had the Canon PowerShot S1 IS, then the S2 IS, then finally the S3 IS. I gave the S1 to my daughter, and sold the S2 and the S3 in order to buy the K100D. I'm very happy with my new camera, but there is simply no question that the Canon S-series fixed-lens cameras were remarkably versatile - great zoom, great macro, good mid-range, not to mention video! - and I miss some of that versatility with my K100D.