Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2007, 05:18 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
k10d body and what lens?

I am waiting on a k10d camera and I didn't purchase the lens yet. I am new to photography and was wondering which lens to start with? I know this depends on the type of photography I will be doing, but truth is, I don't know.
I plan on taking pictures of everything when I get the camera!

I was wondering if the kit lens will be best suited for me until I learn to use the camera and it's features?

I am excited to get into photography and I don't know where to start...

01-24-2007, 05:37 PM   #2
Inactive Account

The kit lens is not great but there really is nothing wrong with it either except being a bit slow, f/3.5 -5.6. Thing is buting it with the camera, it's REALLY inexpensive. So you will be shooting right away. That said start saving your silver for the new lenses coming out in a few months, there will be a 16-50 f/2.8 and 50-135 f/2.8 these lenses are made for the K10D and should be spectacular. The 16-50 will have a field of view equal to a 24-75 on 35mm camera. The other being 75-200mm FOV
01-24-2007, 06:55 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the info. What would the kit lens be good for? I mean, what type of photography would call for it?
01-24-2007, 07:25 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by xecutech Quote
Thanks for the info. What would the kit lens be good for? I mean, what type of photography would call for it?
The 18-55mm is a good general starter lens. For me it's great for snapshots and a good starter lens to get eased into using manual settings on the camera. Later, as you get better lenses, this kit lens can be used as a "crash lens" - a lens that you can take when you are afraid of your expensive glass getting damaged.